Mon, 12 Sep 2011 19:30:10 GMT

Dhoni leads ICC ODI team of the year

Four members of India's World Cup-winning side were included in the ICC's one-day international team of the year on Monday

Dhoni leads ICC ODI team of the year

Dubai: Virender Sehwag, Yuvraj Singh, Mahendra Singh Dhoni and Zaheer Khan made the lineup, chosen by a selection panel chaired by former West Indies captain Clive Lloyd.

Sri Lanka, the World Cup runner-up in April, was represented by batsmen Tillakaratne Dilshan and Kumar Sangakkara while South Africa (AB de Villiers and Dale Steyn) also had two players in the team.

Dhoni, who was named as captain of the ICC team, was included for the fourth straight year.

ICC's ODI team of the year: Tillakaratne Dilshan (Sri Lanka), Virender Sehwag (India), Kumar Sangakkara (Sri Lanka), AB de Villiers (South Africa), Shane Watson (Australia), Yuvraj Singh (India), Mahendra Singh Dhoni (India, captain), Graeme Swann (England), Umar Gul (Pakistan), Dale Steyn (South Africa), Zaheer Khan (India). 12th man: Lasith Malinga (Sri Lanka).

Source: AP

MSN Mobile Sports


more videos

get connected