Thu, 19 Jul 2012 08:23:22 GMT | By PTI

Australia announce preliminary World T20 squad

Melbourne: Young paceman James Pattinson was surprisingly left out from Australia's preliminary 30-member squad announced on Wednesday for the World Twenty20 Championship in Sri Lanka in September.

Australia announce preliminary World T20 squad

The 22-year-old Pattinson, who has been impressive since his Test debut against New Zealand last year, was not a part of the initial Australian pace attack which comprises of Clint McKay, Mitchell Starc, Pat Cummins and Ben Hilfenhaus among others.

The squad also includes Mitchell Johnson, Dirk Nannes, Ryan Harris and Ben Laughlin.
"The ICC World Twenty20 will be a fiercely contested tournament. A great deal of flamboyant cricketing talent will be on display and some games will be turned on their heads by 10 minutes of brilliance. The squad announced today is full of talent, enterprise and all-round strength," National Selector John Inverarity said.

"Within the 30 players named is depth and cover for all departments within the team," he added.
The World Twenty20 will begin on September 18 with the men's competition while the women's matches will begin on September 26.

As with the previous ICC World Twenty20 in 2010, the men's and women's semi-finals and finals will be played as a double-header.

The Australian men's team is in Group B alongside Ireland and West Indies, and its first pool match is against Ireland on September 19.

The Australian women's team is in Group A alongside India, England and Pakistan. The defending champions kick off their campaign against India on September 27.

Australian men's Squad: George Bailey (capt), Travis Birt, Dan Christian, Pat Cummins, Xavier Doherty, James Faulkner, Aaron Finch, Ryan Harris, Ben Hilfenhaus, Brad Hogg, David Hussey, Michael Hussey, Mitchell Johnson, Ben Laughlin, Mitchell Marsh, Shaun Marsh, Glenn Maxwell, Andrew McDonald, Clint McKay, Dirk Nannes, Stephen O'Keefe, Tim Paine, Rob Quiney, Steve Smith, Mitchell Starc, Adam Voges, Matthew Wade, David Warner, Shane Watson, Cameron White.

MSN Mobile Sports


more videos

get connected