Mon, 03 Feb 2014 17:00:00 GMT | By IANS

Harbhajan to captain Rest of India in Irani Cup

Discarded Indian opener Gautam Gambhir also features in the 15-man squad announced

Harbhajan to captain Rest of India in Irani Cup (© Reuters)

Bangalore: Harbhajan Singh will lead the Rest of India (RoI) side against Ranji Trophy champions Karnataka in the Irani Cup to be held here Feb 9-13. The 15-man RoI squad includes Gautam Gambhir, Amit Mishra, Dinesh Karthik, Varun Aaron and Parvez Rasool.

Harbhajan had led the team last year too with RoI winning the Irani Cup for the eighth consecutive time. The tie is a good platform where domestic players and those who have represented India can make an impression on the national selectors.

Karnataka won the Ranji Trophy Sunday beating Maharashtra in Hyderabad.

The RoI squad: Harbhajan Singh (captain), Jiwanjyot Singh, Gautam Gambhir, Baba Aparajith, Kedar Jadhav, Ankit Bawne, Dinesh Kartik, Amit Mishra, Pankaj Singh, Ashoke Dinda, Varun Aaron, Parvez Rasool, Anureet Singh, Natraj Behera, Mandeep Singh.

MSN Mobile Sports


more videos

get connected