Wed, 06 Oct 2010 17:55:26 GMT

East Bengal win Federation Cup

Reisangmi Vashum scored the winning goal in the 53rd minute as East Bengal beat Mohun Bagan 1-0 in the Federation Cup final at the Barabati Stadium in Cuttack on Saturday to annex the title for the seventh time.

Bagan dominated the first half and were unlucky not to take a lead. Asim Biswas's goal on 44 minutes was disallowed by referee Dinesh Nair for no apparent reason. East Bengal too had a golden opportunity in the first half but Tolgay Ozbey failed to convert a penalty on 22 minutes.

In the second half, East Bengal coach Trevor Morgan outsmarted his counterpart Stanley Rozario with some tactical changes. The team started to keep the ball and good supporting play from Mehtab Hossain allowed Penn Orji space to manoeuvre. Bagan think-tank failed to come up with a 'Plan B'.

The goal came, courtesy an error-prone Bagan defence which allowed Robin Singh to collect a long ball from Hossain unchallenged and set up Vashum inside the area. It turned out to be the clincher.

Bagan had another goal disallowed on 73 minutes when Muritala Ali was ruled offside. The striker soon was ordered out of the match for elbowing East Bengal defender Uga Okpara. The latter had an excellent game.

For the first time, the red and golds won the Federation Cup back-to-back.

"I hope this is the first of many," Morgan said after the match. Rozario, on the other hand, blamed "poor officiating" for the loss. "The way our goals were disallowed was simply not fair," he said.

Source: The Indian Express

MSN Mobile Sports


more videos

get connected